What Are Chakras?

What are Chakras?




Chakra is a Sanskrit word that translates to "wheel" or "disk". 

The Chakras are energy points that are located throughout your body. They function to help balance the energy that flows through you. In much the same way your organs are responsible for your physical health, your chakras help to balance your spiritual self. When the chakras are balanced we feel energised, connected and in tune with the world, but external forces such as stress or trauma can cause them to become unbalanced and blocked. 

When your chakras are blocked or unbalanced, the energy flow in your body becomes disrupted. This can cause both physical and mental manifestations, such as an increased chance of illness, or emotional issues such as depression and anxiety. This is why it is important to try to resolve any blockages so that your body and mind can both flourish to its best.

In your body, there are seven main chakras. These (starting at the base of your spine and moving up) are listed below -


  • The Root Chakra (Muladhara)
  • The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)
  • The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
  • The Heart Chakra (Anahata)
  • The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
  • The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)
  • The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)


Each of these chakras are connected to different feelings and emotions throughout your body, and can cause both physical and metaphysical manifestations. They can effect the function of your organs and the sharpness of your mind.

There are many methods you can use to help balance your chakras including meditation, yoga, crystals, aromatherapy and Reiki. At Myste our chakra products are designed to help aid the balancing of the energies that flow through you by bringing these into your home and life - whether it is a chakra balancing candle or a crystal bracelet. 



Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.